Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu, Inflection Point

26 Mar

So I’ve been reading Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu with utmost fervor since its start, and subscribe to the bi-weekly Sho-Comi magazines solely for this series.

SPOILER ALERT, READ AT YOUR OWN RISK:

The story was innocuous and inane enough in the beginning, but as many point out, the cliches were extremely well-done and even though we’ve all seen & read it before, it was made fun & exciting again by Minami Kanan-sensei.  Most of the beginning until now has been relatively “happy” and not at all like the other angst-ridden sadness that are Ashihara Hinako’s or Obata Yuki’s stories.  But now…?  The story has reached its inflection point around chapter 80 (12th or 13 to-be-published volume).  Tsubaki has finally realized that she needs to get her act together and not just study for the sake of making Kyouta or her mom happy.  Kyouta feels guilty since Tsubaki is constantly pushing herself tirelessly for him.  They decide that they need to go on a “break” with each other and during this time, Kyouta will focus on rehabilitation efforts for his broken arm & leg and Tsubaki will focus on finding what she truly wants to do after high school.

I don’t know how long this break will be.  The previous chapter hinted that Kyouta’s rehab will take around six months.  The current chapter also POSSIBLY foreshadows that either Kyouta or Tsubaki will encounter a new potential love interest.  OMG PLEASE LET THIS BE THE CASE FOR TSUBAKI!!!  I would love to see Tsubaki wavering a bit with the introduction of a new male!  I was so PO’ed with the Haru arc because he had a bullshit reason for getting close to Tsubaki and it was just…A big dose of NO.  Kyouta already has had too many other girls clinging to him, so he’s taken care of…Please Minami-sensei, new hawt male character for Tsubaki, please!

OH, and of course, the biggest shocker of the latest chapter:  KYOUTA CHANGES HIS HAIRSTYLE.  Tsubaki cuts his hair one last time before their goodbye and his hair is more choppy and shorter.  I personally like it!  The new story arc (third year of high school) begins in the next chapter so I’m very excited to see what new developments will surface.  Stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Kyou, Koi wo Hajimemasu, Inflection Point”

  1. BabyDoll April 7, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    Agree! I so like the idea of Tsubaki having a new love interest! For the last 80 chapters it has always been Kyouta getting female interest! I hope the new guy is hot hot hot but not so hot hot hot like Kyouta, get it? I still like Kyouta to be hotter than the new guy. Well for the hairstyle, I was quite shock to see that it’s so short! But I guess it suit him well. I was sad that they were going for a cool off but it’s for the best of both of them. I am so looking forward for the upcoming chapters! I hope this manga won’t end yet! I love it’s story! Who’s with me? Kekekekek

    • conniemusings April 7, 2011 at 8:44 am #

      I was also initially shocked by his new hairstyle but I quickly came to love it!

      I dunno for how much longer it’ll go on, but I think it’ll be at least 15 volumes (hopefully longer as long as the story doesn’t drag!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

